Black Friday Deals

Product Image

Cuisinart DCC-3200P1 Perfectemp Coffee Maker

69,99 $ 185,00 $

You save: 115,01 $ (62%)

Go to the offer
Product Image

De'Longhi La Specialista Espresso Machine

639,96 $ 749,95 $

You save: 109,99 $ (15%)

Go to the offer
Product Image

Cafe Du Chateau French Press

21,20 $ 24,95 $

You save: 3,75 $ (15%)

Go to the offer
Product Image

HadinEEon Milk Frother, white

33,13 $ 39,98 $

You save: 6,85 $ (17%)

Go to the offer
Product Image

De'Longhi Dedica Espresso Machine

263,96 $ 299,95 $

You save: 35,99 $ (12%)

Go to the offer
Product Image

MOOSOO Electric Kettle

52,92 $ 68,99 $

You save: 16,07 $ (23%)

Go to the offer

What Is an Espresso Macchiato?

This article is all about the espresso macchiato and its preparation. I structured this article to allow you to jump directly to the heading that interests you most. As always on Coffeeness, this article is not about capsule coffee like Nespresso, but about real coffee made from fresh beans.

This article is all about the espresso macchiato and its preparation. I structured this article to allow you to jump directly to the heading that interests you most. As always on Coffeeness, this article is not about capsule coffee like Nespresso, but about real coffee made from fresh beans.

Short Definition:

An espresso macchiato is a single or double espresso topped with a layer of finely frothed milk. To prepare an espresso macchiato properly, you should read this article, of course, as there are some important things to keep in mind.

Table of Contents


What Is an Espresso Macchiato?

Confusion is common in the world of coffee drinks, and this starts with uncertainty as to the ideal portion of espresso. When I order an espresso, I expect a beverage of 20 to 25 milliliters (4 to 5 teaspoons). However, there are often surprises in espresso serving sizes: 30 or 40 milliliters (6 to 8 teaspoons), or even cups of about 100 milliliters (20 teaspoons).

As a barista myself, I know the work that goes on behind the counter and the somewhat disappointed faces you see when customers are given what they ordered: an espresso. Yes, 20 milliliters (4 teaspoons) can look like very little. In this case, I would recommend using a small cup. Of course, for people who don’t work with coffee and espresso day in and day out, it’s difficult to assess what a “real” espresso is – especially when you receive something different from every restaurant.

Thus, an espresso is 20 to 25 milliliters (4 to 5 teaspoons), and a double espresso is 40 to 50 milliliters (8 to 10 teaspoons). The crema sits on top and, depending on the espresso beans, can be variably dense, dark, light, integrated or dispersed. The reasoning simply isn’t true that “if the crema looks good, then the espresso must be good.” Crema looks great, but it doesn’t allow you to draw any conclusions about an espresso’s taste.

However, now you must add the “macchiato” to the espresso: the added layer of milk foam.

Espresso Macchiato Portafilter


From the phrase “latte macchiato,” many people probably already know that the term “macchiato” is Italian and means “stained.” The translation can be taken very literally. Hot milk is poured into the glass first, then the foam, and finally the espresso – this is what stains the milk. This effect looks great in a glass, and that’s why “stained milk” is usually served in glassware.

However, in the case of an espresso macchiato, what then becomes “stained”? The situation is actually reversed. The espresso is poured into the cup first and the milk foam then added on top. In other words, the espresso is stained with the milk. While latte macchiatos have dark espresso streaks through the milk, the espresso macchiatos have white foam streaks through the espresso.

In Italy, though, you should order a caffè macchiato if you want to drink an espresso macchiato because a “caffè” is espresso.

Espresso Macchiato Milk Foam

Espresso Macchiato Ingredients


The required ingredients are very straightforward.

  • Fresh, quality espresso beans
  • Fresh (ideally full-fat) milk

The espresso is best when brewed with a portafilter machine, i.e. a real espresso machine. A well-calibrated super-automatic espresso machine is also an option. A so-called stove-top espresso maker won’t work because it doesn’t actually make real espresso. You can read more about this in the linked article.

You will have to froth the milk, too.

Espresso Macchiato

Espresso Macchiato – The Milk Foam Portion


The problem with making an espresso macchiato is that you only need a small amount of milk foam. However, it’s not possible to froth milk in such small quantities using a steam wand on a portafilter machine. You only need 10 to 50 milliliters (2 to 10 teaspoons) of foam, and you can’t achieve the best milk foam results with less than 200 milliliters (14 tablespoons) of milk. This means you either have to make a lot of espresso macchiatos (which would cause new difficulties with pulling so many espresso shots) or find someone who likes to drink hot frothy milk. That’s because there are two big no-nos:

  1. Pouring out fresh milk
  2. Frothing the same milk twice

Those who froth their milk with the help of super-automatic espresso machines have a similar problem. The first 40 milliliters (3 tablespoons) of milk that makes its way through the automatic milk frothing system are usually the worst quality: watery and not uniform. That’s why, in this case, you should prepare at least 100 milliliters (7 tablespoons) of milk, if not more.

No matter how you produce the milk foam, the milk should not exceed 65 degrees Celsius (18 degrees Fahrenheit), and the froth should be fine but not too firm. The goal is not to produce a foamable to stably hold a biscuit on top, but instead one that is both delicate and supple.

Espresso Macchiato Instructions


Here’s how you make your own espresso macchiatos at home:

  1. Prepare a shot of espresso with the portafilter or super-automatic espresso machine. With a portafilter espresso machine, you will need about 7 grams (one large teaspoon) of fresh, finely ground espresso beans. With a super-automatic espresso machine, the amount of coffee you need will usually be slightly higher. The flow time should be about 25 seconds, and the espresso output quantity about 20 to 25 milliliters (4 to 5 teaspoons). Pay attention because the factory setting regarding espresso portion size is too high on many super-automatic espresso machines and needs to be reduced.
  2. Then add the milk foam – best if prepared before pulling the espresso shot – to the center of the espresso with a teaspoon. Personally, I always try to have the foam at a 1-to-2 ratio with the espresso. So if I have 20 milliliters (4 teaspoons) of espresso, I will add 10 milliliters (2 teaspoons) of milk foam to make my espresso macchiato.

Of course, you also have the option of adding a dash of hot milk with the milk froth. As far as I’m concerned, it is still an espresso macchiato as long as there is still less milk and foam in the cup than espresso. In other words, avoiding the 1-to-1 ratio. Otherwise, at some point it becomes something else: a cortado, café noisette or whatever else is out there.

Please note that frothed milk is lighter, with a larger volume than espresso. So although you may only fill your cup with half the weight of milk foam, the volume of the drink doubles as a whole.

Doppio Espresso Macchiato


The process is similar for a doppio espresso macchiato, of course, just doubling the amounts. A double espresso portion is about 40 to 50 milliliters (8 to 10 teaspoons), and a double milk foam portion is about 20 to 25 milliliters (4 to 5 teaspoons). Of course, you will need somewhat larger cups.

Espresso Macchiato Crema

Espresso Macchiato Flavor and the Right Cup


As you can see in the photos, I use double-walled espresso glasses. I find them practical because they offer a lot of space with their 80-milliliter (16-teaspoon) capacity, even though they usually only hold around 20 milliliters (4 teaspoons). Of course, they are also especially stunning in photographs and enable viewers to better see the structure of my espresso shots. However, glass retains heat much worse than porcelain.

For this reason, I would generally recommend porcelain cups that should be preheated before you pull the shots. You can buy a six-piece set on Amazon.com here.

Espresso Macchiato Arne

There’s a lot you could say about the taste of espresso macchiato, but generalities are difficult. Since espresso is its main component, this is obviously key. Additionally, the fat in the milk foam is a very good carrier of flavor. It brings out many of the aromas in the espresso, but also changes them somewhat.

An espresso macchiato is certainly a very good choice for those who still find espresso a little too intense, but are slowly becoming purists. Besides its taste, there is something else that is really great about an espresso macchiato – it has almost no calories!

One last request: Be cool and go without sugar. It’s bad for the teeth, bad for the figure, and very bad for the espresso flavors. Even if Starbucks and friends tell you otherwise.

I look forward to your comment

Espresso Macchiato Rezepte und Zubereitungstips

Hier geht es um den Espresso Macchiato und seine Zubereitung. Im Folgenden habe ich den Artikel ein wenig gegliedert, damit du direkt zu der für dich interessanten Überschrift springen kannst. Wie immer auf Coffeeness, geht es in diesem Artikel nicht um Tassimo oder Nespresso, sondern um richtigen Bohnenkaffee.

Kurze Definition: 

Ein Espresso Macchiato ist ein einfacher oder doppelter Espresso mit ein wenig feinem Milchschaum garniert. Um einen Espresso Macchiato richtig zuzubereiten, solltest du natürlich diesen Artikel lesen, da es einige wichtige Dinge zu beachten gilt. 

Was ist ein Espresso Macchiato?

In der Welt der Kaffeegetränke gibt es immer wieder Verwirrung. Das fängt schon bei der Espressomenge an. Wenn ich einen Espresso bestelle, rechne ich mit einer Getränkemenge von 20-25 ml oder besser Gramm. Die Crema kann ja auch mal auftragen. Oft gibt es aber Überraschungen. 30 oder 40ml kommen genauso vor, wie Tassen mit ca. 100ml.

Jetzt kenne ich als Barista selbst die Arbeit hinterm Tresen und die teilweise enttäuschten Gesichter, wenn der Gast bekommt, was er bestellt hat – einen Espresso. Und 20ml können schon wirklich wenig aussehen. Hier empfiehlt sich eine kleine Tasse. Für Menschen, die sich nicht den ganzen Tag mit Kaffee und Espresso beschäftigen, ist es natürlich auch schwierig einzuschätzen, was ein “richtiger” Espresso ist, wenn er in jedem Restaurant bei seiner Bestellung etwas anderes bekommt.

Ein Espresso hat also 20-25 ml, ein doppelter Espresso dementsprechend 40 – 50ml. Oben drauf ist eine Crema, die ist je nach Espressobohnen unterschiedlich dicht, dunkel, hell, geschlossen oder offen. Der Schluss: “wenn die Crema gut aussieht, ist der Espresso gut”, stimmt nicht. Die Crema sieht toll aus, erlaubt aber keinen Rückschluss auf den Geschmack des Espressos. Habt ein Herz für das hässliche Entlein.

Jetzt muss aber noch das “Macchiato” zum Espresso kommen. Zu einem Espresso Macchiato gehört noch ein Hauch Milchschaum.

Espresso Macchiato Siebtraeger

Was heißt eigentlich Macchiato beim Espresso Macchiato

Vom Latte Macchiato wissen sicher viele schon, dass die Bezeichnung aus dem italienischen kommt und  übersetzt „befleckte Milch“ heißt. Die Übersetzung kann sehr wörtlich genommen werden. In das Glas kommt erst die heiße Milch, der Schaum und anschließend der Espresso und dieser befleckt die Milch. Das sieht toll in einem Glas aus und deswegen wird eine gefleckte Milch zumeist in gläsernen Gefäßen serviert.

Was wird aber beim Espresso Macchiato befleckt? Eigentlich ist es umgekehrt. Zunächst kommt der Espresso in die Tasse und später der Milchschaum oben drauf. Befleckt wird also der Espresso mit Milch. Während es beim Latte Macchiato also dunkle Espressoflecken auf der Milch gibt, gibt es beim Espresso Macchiato weiße Schaumflecken auf dem Espresso.

In Italien solltet ihr trotzdem einen Caffè Macchiato bestellen, wenn ihr einen Espresso Macchiato trinken wollt.

Espresso Macchiato Milchschaum

Zutaten für einen Espresso Macchiato

Die benötigten Zutaten sind überschaubar.

  • Frische und gute Espressobohnen.
  • Frische und möglichst fette Vollmilch.

Der Espresso sollte im Idealfall mit einem Siebträger, also einer richtigen Espressomaschine zubereitet werden. Ein gut kalibrierter Kaffeevollautomat ist aber ebenfalls eine Option. Was nicht geht ist ein sogenannter Espressokocher, der macht nämlich keinen richtigen Espresso. Genaueres kannst du in dem verlinkten Artikel nachlesen.

Außerdem musst du die Milch aufschäumen.

Espresso Macchiato

Espresso Macchiato – Milchschaummenge

Das Problem bei einem Espresso Macchiato ist, dass nur sehr wenig Schaum benötigt wird. Es ist aber nicht möglich, mit einem Siebträger,  in so kleinen Mengen Milch aufzuschäumen. Währen nur 10 bis 50ml benötig werden, gelingen die besten Milschaumergebnisse nicht unter 200ml. Es gilt also extem viele Espresso Macchiatos zu machen (was natürlich beim Espresso-Bezug für neue Schwierigkeiten sorgt) oder jemanden zu finden, der gerne eine heiße aufgeschäumte Milch trinkt. Denn zwei Dinge gehen nicht:

  1. Frische Milch wegzukippen.
  2. Doppelt aufschäumen.

Wer seinen Milchschaum mit einem Kaffeevollautomaten produziert, hat ein ähnliches Problem. Gerade die ersten 40ml, die aus dem automatischen Milchschaumsystem kommen, sind von der Qualität meistens die schlechtesten. Sie sind wässrig und nicht homogen. Deswegen sollten hier auch mindestens 100ml bezogen werden, besser mehr.

Egal wie der Milchschaum Produziert wird. Die Milch sollte nicht über 65°C und feinen, nicht zu festen Schaum haben. Das Ziel ist nicht der “Prinzenrolle-Keks”, der auf dem Schaum liegen bleibt, sondern ein filigraner beweglicher Schaum.

Espresso Macchiato Rezept

Jetzt geht es natürlich darum, dass jeder seinen Espresso Macchiato zuhause selbst zubereiten können soll.

  1. Bezieht einen Espresso aus der Espressomaschine oder dem Kaffeevollautomat. Im Siebträger macht ihr das mit ca. 7g fein gemahlenen, frischen Espressobohnen. Im Vollautomaten ist die Kaffeepulvermenge zumeist höher.  Die Durchlaufzeit sollte ca. 25 Sekunden betragen. Die Espresso Menge sollte 20 bis 25ml betragen. Achtung, bei vielen Kaffeevollautomaten ist die Espressomenge ab Werk viel zu hoch eingestellt und muss reduziert werden.
  2. Der am besten schon vorbereitete Milchschaum wird mit einem Teelöffel in die Mitte des Espressos befördert. Ich persönlich versuche immer die Hälfte des Espressogewichts mit Schaum zu ergänzen. Also wenn ich einen 20g Espresso habe, kommen noch 10g Milchschaum dazu, um meinen Espresso Macchiato zu bekommen.

Zu dem Milchschaum könnt ihr nach belieben natürlich noch ein Schuss heiße Milch geben. Für mich ist es noch so lange ein Espresso Macchiato, sofern nicht mehr Milch + Schaum als Espresso in der Tasse ist. Ansonsten ist es irgendwann etwas anderes, ein Cortado, Noisette oder was es sonst noch so gibt.

Beachtet bitte, dass der Milchschaum leichter ist, bei größerem Volumen als der Espresso. Also kann es sein, dass ihr nur die Hälfte an Gewicht Milchschaum einfüllt, sich aber das Volumen des Getränks verdoppelt.

Doppio Espresso Macchiato

Das ist natürlich vom Ablauf ähnlich, nur mit doppelten Mengen. Doppelte Espresso Menge, also 40 bis 50ml und doppelte Milchschaummenge, also 20 bis 25g. Hier sind natürlich schon etwas größere Tassen nötig.

Espresso Macchiato Crema

Espresso Macchiato Geschmack und die richtige Tasse

Wie ihr auf den Fotos sehen könnt, verwende ich doppelwandige Espresso-Gläser. Die finde ich praktisch, weil sie mit ihren 80ml viel Platz bieten, auch wenn meistens nur 20ml rein kommen. Für mich sind sie natürlich insbesondere interessant für Fotos und um die Struktur meines bezogenen Espressos besser sehen zu können. Allerdings ist Glas ein schlechterer Wärmespeicher als Porzellan.

Deswegen würde ich generell Porzellantassen empfehlen, die vorgeheizt werden sollten. Hier könnt ihr ein 6 Set auf Amazon.de kaufen.

Espresso Macchiato Arne

Zum Geschmack eines Espresso Macchiato gibt es viel zu sagen, aber nichts generelles. Da sein größter Bestandteil Espresso ist, kommt es natürlich entscheidend auf diesen an. Das Fett im Milchschaum ist ein sehr guter Geschmacksträger, er bringt viele Aromen des Espressos raus, verändert diese aber auch.

Ein Espresso Macchiato ist sicher eine sehr gute Wahl, für alle, denen ein Espresso noch zu intensiv ist, die sich aber langsam zu Puristen mausern wollen. Neben seinem Geschmack ist am Espresso Macchiato noch was toll – er hat so gut wie keine Kalorien.

Noch eine Bitte: Seid cool und verzichtet auf Zucker. Schlecht für die Zähne, schlecht für die Figur und sehr schlecht für den Espressogeschmack. Auch wenn Starbucks und Konsorten was anderes erzählen.

 

19 Kommentare
  • Rolf Suter
    9 November, 2016

    Hallo, hab nur kurz reingeschaut, bei 20 ml Esspresso hörte ich auf. Was ist denn für dich ein Ristretto? 10 ml??
    Espresso 40-50 doppelt 80. Ristretto um die 20 ml. So sehe ich das.
    Trotzdem danke für den Blog, Espresso Macchiatto kannte ich noch nicht so genau.
    LG Rolf

Ich freue mich über deinen Kommentar

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *